A charming detached former chapel offering accommodation on a single level with some beautifully proportioned rooms. Close to the town and amenities and with views towards the Axe Estuary and sea.
The Chapel is a unique Grade II Listed detached home which has a particularly interesting history and offers single storey living with the convenience of the town close at hand. It sits next to an impressive late Georgian Gothic house which was built in 1834 by Commander William Henry Baptist Proby, a well respected naval commander during the early part of the 19th century. The chapel was added in the latter 1800s by the subsequent owner, a Rev Clarence John Soanes. The house and grounds were used as a military hospital during the first world war, before becoming a girls boarding school and subsequently a children